A Baroque Celebration with an All-Star Cast (Dessay, Jaroussky, Villaz – Iconic Arts
A Baroque Celebration with an All-Star Cast (Dessay, Jaroussky, Villazón, von Otter, etc) - HD

A Baroque Celebration with an All-Star Cast (Dessay, Jaroussky, Villazón, von Otter, etc) - HD

Regular price $35.00 $7.99 Sale

Title: A Baroque Celebration
Date: 2011
Location: Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Paris, France
Language: Original
Subtitles: None
Media Download Available: High Definition Digital Video (HD DVD) 
Quality & Size: Superb (High Definition)/ Professional (2.02 GB)
Duration: 1 hour
Details: The Concert d’Astrée celebrates its first decade with a concert featuring an elite group of singers, stars specialized in the baroque repertoire or in bel canto opera like Natalie Dessay, Philippe Jaroussky, Rolando Villazón, and Anne Sofie von Otter.

Emmanuelle Haïm—founder, director, and harpsichordist of this ensemble dedicated to performance of the baroque opera repertoire—brings together these artists for a recital featuring jewels by three brilliant 18th century composers of opera: Handel, Purcell, and Rameau. A celebratory program sure to astonish and delight!

  • Nathalie Dessay | Soprano
  • Sandrine Piau | Soprano
  • Patricia Petibon | Soprano
  • Magali Léger | Soprano
  • Françoise Masset | Soprano
  • Karine Deshayes | Mezzo-soprano
  • Anne Sofie von Otter | Mezzo-soprano
  • Philippe Jaroussky | Countertenor
  • Pascal Bertin | Countertenor
  • Rolando Villazón | Tenor
  • Topi Lehtipuu | Tenor
  • Stéphane Degout | Baritone
  • Christopher Purves | Bass

Le Concert d'Astrée
Emmanuelle Haïm | Conductor


  • Jean-Philippe Rameau, Les Indes galantes
    • IV, 6: Rondeau "Forêts paisibles"
  • George Frideric Handel, Rinaldo, HWV 7
    • I, 9: Venti, turbini
  • George Frideric Handel, Cantata "Il delirio amoroso", HWV 99
    • III. Un pensiero voli in ciel
  • Jean-Philippe Rameau, Dardanus
    • Act IV: “Monstre affreux, monstre redoutable”
  • Jean-Philippe Rameau, Platée
    • II, 5: Air de la Folie: "Aux langeuers d'Apollon"
  • Jean-Philippe Rameau, Hippolyte et Aricie
    • I, 4: “Bruit de tonnerre”
  • Jean-Philippe Rameau, Dardanus
    • Act III: "Paix favorable, paix adorable"
  • Henry Purcell, King Arthur, Z.628
    • III: What power art thou
  • Henry Purcell, Come Ye Sons Of Art, Z. 323
    • 3. Sound The Trumpet
  • George Frideric Handel, Dixit Dominus, HWV 232
    • 7. De torrente in via bibet
  • George Frideric Handel, Tamerlano
    • I: "Cielo e terra armi di sdegno"
  • George Frideric Handel, Giulio Cesare in Egitto, HWV 17
    • I, 10 : Duetto "Son nata a lagrimar / Son nato a sospirar"
  • George Frideric Handel, Messiah
    • 44. Hallelujah (chorus)