Requiem in D minor, Op.48 (Gabriel Faure) - London - May, 2014 (Digita – Iconic Arts
Requiem in D minor, Op.48 (Gabriel Faure) - London - May, 2014 (Digital Audio)

Requiem in D minor, Op.48 (Gabriel Faure) - London - May, 2014 (Digital Audio)

Regular price $20.00 $2.99 Sale

Title: Requiem in D minor, Op.48
Composer: Gabriel Fauré
Date: May 24, 2014
Location: Barbican Centre, London, England
Language: Latin
Quality: Excellent/Professional


Soprano : Hélène Guilmette
Baritone : Jean-François Lapointe
BBC Singers
BBC Symphony Chorus
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Conductor : Ludovic Morlot
TOTAL TIME - 33:02


Gabriel Fauré composed his Requiem in D minor, Op. 48, between 1887 and 1890. The choral-orchestral setting of the shortened Catholic Mass for the Dead in Latin is the best-known of his large works. Its focus is on eternal rest and consolation. 

In seven movements, the work is scored for soprano and baritone soloists, mixed choir, orchestra and organ. Different from typical Requiem settings, the full sequence Dies irae is omitted, replaced by its section Pie Jesu. The final movement In Paradisum is based on a text that is not part of the liturgy of the funeral mass but of the burial.

Fauré wrote of the work, "Everything I managed to entertain by way of religious illusion I put into my Requiem, which moreover is dominated from beginning to end by a very human feeling of faith in eternal rest."

The piece premiered in its first version in 1888 in La Madeleine in Paris for a funeral mass. A performance takes about 35 minutes.